Quick Links

Quick Links

Heycroft Primary School

South East Essex Academy Trust (SEEAT)


Heycroft’s Computing Curriculum has been designed to provide all children with the knowledge that computer science can help us understand and change the world. 

Our curriculum aims to provide learners with the skills to use computers responsibly and creatively to gather and share information.  

The units of work we teach for key stages 1 and 2 are based on the NCCE’s Teach Computing Scheme. This spiral curriculum means that each of the themes is revisited regularly and pupils revisit each theme through a new unit that consolidates and builds on prior learning within that theme.  Exploratory tasks foster a deeper understanding of a concept, encouraging pupils to apply their learning in different contexts and make connections with other learning experiences.  

The national curriculum content we teach has links relating to aspects of online safety and digital citizenship set out in the 2020 Education for a Connected World framework.

As children progress through our curriculum, they demonstrate an increasing ability and awareness to use computers responsibly and creatively to gather and share information. They will also show an increasing understanding of how computer science has changed and will further change society. 


Back to Top