Home Page

Meet the Governors

Governor attendance record 2019-2020

Governors Term of Office

Tony Neville Chair of Governors & Chair of Leadership and Management Committee Co-Opted 25/02/2023
Angela Winfield Vice Chair of Governors & SEN Governor, Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee Co-Opted 19/12/2021
Elizabeth Hine STEM Governor Local Authority 31/12/2023
Rebecca Sparrow Safe Guarding Governor  Parent Governor  29/02/2022
Ryan Joyce  Teaching & Learning Committee Parent Governor  29/02/2022
Helen Barrett Chair of Behaviour & Well being Committee Co-Opted 30/06/2024
Trevor Darby Finance Governor  Co-Opted 16/10/2024
Michael Thomas Finance Governor Co-Opted 31/07/2023
Irena Cassar Pupil Premium Governor  Co-Opted 11/12/2023
Hannah Whitborn Staff Staff Governor 31/08/2024
Alison Saunders Staff Associate   
Andrew Palmer Leadership & Management Head Teacher  


We are fortunate in having an extremely dedicated and knowledgeable Governing Body who work hard to support and challenge the school in its work. Many governors are in the school

on a weekly basis and work closely with staff and pupils.


The Governing Body has three committees:

Behaviour, Safety and Well Being
Teaching, Learning and Pupil Achievement
Leadership and Management

Each committee meets twice a term with the full Governing Body meeting termly.

The Governors -

Not Pictured:


Mrs. H. Barrett






Mrs. A. Winfield


Angela is a Certified Registered Bookkeeper, and a Fellow of the International Association of Bookkeepers.


Angela has been associated with the school for over 8 eight years most of which on the Governing Body. I am passionate about the great work and dedication the staff at Heycroft do to prepare our children for what life lies ahead. 

Angela has one children at the school and is keen to promote Respect, Excellence and Determination.


Mr. T.  Neville


Tony has had three children attend Heycroft, the first starting in 2000 with the last leaving the school in 2017 and has a long association in supporting the school, initially as Chair of the Parents’ Association and as a Parent  Governor, becoming Chair of Governors in the 2019/20 school year.


Tony is looking forward to continuing to support  all  the great work the staff at Heycroft do to educate and prepare the children for their life ahead.


Mr. M. Thomas 


Mick is retired, having previously worked throughout his career in information technology roles within financial institutions. He has acquired much experience of budgeting and general financial matters.


He was a "Heycroft parent" continuously from 1984 to 1998 with all three of his daughters enjoying their early education at Heycroft. He has been a Governor for nearly 20 years.


He has been a resident of Eastwood for over 30 years and is pleased to be able to contribute to the on-going development of the school.


Mrs. H. Barrett


Helen has become our newest Parent Governor (joined Feb 2016) with currently one child at the school. She is also a member of the Heycroft Parents Association and is proud to be involved in all areas of her daughters education, and to be able to contribute and support everyone involved at Heycroft. 


Rebecca Sparrow


Rebecca has been Parent Governor since January 2018 and has a daughter at the school.


Rebecca has extensive knowledge around the law especially in relation to Child Protection Matters and  Safeguarding.


Rebecca is looking forward to working with the Governing Body of Heycroft in the coming years.


Mr R Joyce


Ryan is a primary school teacher, who started his career at Heycroft in 2006. He enjoyed his 5 years there so much that he moved into the Eastwood area. Ryan has two boys at the school and was excited to return to the Heycroft family as a governor to help drive the school forward for more continued success. 


Mrs I Cassar


Irena  Cassar is a retired teacher who has previously taught a range of subjects at King John School, Southend High School for Girls and Greensward Academy. Through out her career she worked training teachers of all ages and across all curricular subjects.

She is looking forward to support all the staff, students and parents at Heycroft Primary School.










All Parent Governors are elected by a Ballot of the Parents

Staff Governors are elected by a Staff Ballot


Clerk to the Governors - Ms. H. Hatchman